Obedient Sacrifice

The sacrifice of comfort is rewarding, breaking down the wall of selfish carrying ons. Relinquishing my right to go about with my schedule, I stopped at Starbucks on the way home. Having already visited twice in one day, did a recording for my fundraising video coming soon and back again to use my treat receipt!

I saw a girl, sweet, and carried admirable art work, tattoos. At first glance I could tell she needed “something” more than Starbucks. I carried on reading and writing, facebooking and the like, then I turned around. Immediately, God gave me instruction.
God-“go talk to her”
I replied “and say what, this is always awkward.”
God-“she needs to hear the gospel”
And so there I was faced with not doing it because it was awkward.
Needless to say, God and I talked. “If you can’t love people here, you can’t love people where you are going”, “when do you ever regret talking to someone I asked you to?” Even when I’ve been rejected, there’s almost ever no regret.
He always reminds me of this. I’m so grateful for His patience. I packed my things up and I paused as I walked out the door. There she was right in front of me, I embraced the moment, engaging conversation that flowed so easily. She was so welcoming. But more than that, she was in awe the entire time I spoke with her. Tearing up when I told her that “God noticed her.” Not only did she hear God noticed her, she believed it. Continuing in easy conversation about His love, about Jesus, her journey…and seeking Him.
I must say, I was ever so happy that I stopped and talked to her.
She said, “You were right on time, I cannot believe this, you have no idea how much I needed that”

My challenge to you: Stop for the one. They matter and are noticed by the One who loves them most.

Anchored in Zion
Renee Jael

Leave a Reply

